Local Emergency Planning Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Emergency Planning & Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA)

EPCRA was created to help communities plan for emergencies involving hazardous substances. The Act established requirements for federal, state and local governments, Indian tribes, and industry regarding emergency planning and "Community Right-to-Know" reporting on hazardous and toxic chemicals.

Planning and Reporting Facilities

Racine County has sixty-eight planning facilities. These are facilities that use, store or produce extremely hazardous substances, as defined by the EPA. The most common chemical is sulfuric acid. Chlorine, anhydrous ammonia and nitric acid are also common chemicals used throughout the community. In addition to the planning facilities, there are 150 facilities that report hazardous chemical used or stored throughout the year.

Local Emergency Planning Committee

State and federal law require each county to have a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), which must develop an emergency response plan, review it at least annually, and provide citizens information about chemicals in the community. Plans are developed by the LEPC with stakeholder participation.

Members of the Racine County’s LEPC are:

David Gordon, Ascension-Wheaton

Marcia Fernholz, Racine Health Department

Thomas Karkow, WRJN

David Maack, Racine County Emergency Management

BC Paul Madden, Racine Fire Department

Chief Sean Marschke, Sturtevant Police Department

Robert N Miller, Racine County Board

Jeffrey Nettesheim, SC Johnson

Allison Thielen, Root-Pike WIN

Lt. Chuck Weitzel, Racine Police Department

Lt. David Wolgemuth, Racine Police Department