Western Racine County Sewerage District

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Western Racine County Sewerage District (WRCSD) is a self-governing body that is separate from, and independent of Racine County Government. WRCSD consists of five commissioners appointed by the County Executive. Racine County government has no authority over any mapping, annexation, or benefits assessments proposed by WRCSD. As a courtesy, Racine County hosts the WRCSD website. WRCSD provides the content for the WRCSD website, and is solely responsible for the accuracy of the information contained in the WRCSD website. WRCSD makes every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information provided on its web site. However, due to the possibility of transmission errors, HTML browser capabilities, changes made since the last update to the site, etc., neither WRCSD, nor any agency, officer, or employee of WRCSD warrants the accuracy, reliability, or timeliness of any information published by this system, nor endorses any content, viewpoints, products, or services linked from this system, and shall not be held liable for any losses caused by reliance on the accuracy, reliability, or timeliness of such information. Portions of such information may be incorrect or not current. Any person or entity that relies on any information obtained from this system does so at his or her own risk.


To report concerns with a sewer issue, contact Jeff Bratz, Plant Manager:

(262) 534-6237 or email (

The most densely developed portions of Racine County are served by public sanitary sewerage systems. Sewage treatment and disposal for the remainder of the County is provided by private onsite wastewater treatment systems, for the most part serving individual landowners. About 33,060 acres (51.6 square miles), or 15 percent of the total area of the County, was served by public sanitary sewers in 2000. The resident population served in 2000 was about 169,900 people, or 90 percent of the Racine County population.

The WRCSD facility, located at 1020 N. River Rd. in the Village of Rochester, serves the Villages of Rochester and Waterford, and portions of the Town of Waterford.

The largest sewage treatment facility in the County is operated by the City of Racine. This facility also serves the Villages of Caledonia, Elmwood Park, Mt. Pleasant, North Bay, Sturtevant, and Wind Point in the eastern portion of the County, along with the area located along CTH KR in the Town of Somers in Kenosha County. The City of Burlington sewage treatment facility serves the City of Burlington and portions of the Town of Burlington. The Town of Norway Sanitary District No. 1 facility serves the northwest portion of the Town of Norway and a portion of the City of Muskego in Waukesha County. The Village of Union Grove facility serves the Village of Union Grove and the Southern Wisconsin Center in the Town of Dover. The smallest sewage treatment facilities in the County, serving relatively small areas and populations, are located at Eagle Lake in the Town of Dover and at Ives Grove in the Village of Yorkville.

Nearly all of the sewered area in the County is tributary to any one of seven public sewage treatment facilities located within the County. The Caddy Vista area in the Village of Caledonia is tributary to the Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District sewerage system.

-- Information courtesy of Racine County and SEWRPC


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer